Add to Technorati Favorites

Alter Egos - I Am Done Watching This

When clicking on an Alter Egos in the sidebar, please look above this title for video content.

Monday, February 05, 2007

The Nons Ense Award 2008

Dead Beat is appalled by the paltry number of awards being awarded. It is surely not be rewarded.

In case you missed any, D.B. brings you the latest batch... more to follow....and follow.. and lead the way...and cut corners...and take illegal steroids...

Nanae Aoyama has won the 2007 (January) Akutagawa Prize for her novel Hitori Biyori.

Thomas Harris, best known for his Hannibal Lecter novels that have been filmed as The Silence of the Lambs, Hannibal and Red Dragon has been given the 2006 Lifetime Achievement Award by the Horror Writers Association.

Seamus Heaney has won the ₤10,000 T.S. Eliot Prize for his 2006 collection of poetry titled District and Circle. The collection is the Nobel Prize winner’s 12th book of poetry. The T.S. Eliot Prize, organized in 1993, is given annually to the best collection of new verse published the UK or Ireland.

Costa Book Awards (formerly known as the Whitbread Book Awards) have announced the category winners for 2006. The five books will now compete for the “book of the year” award that will be decided on the 7th of February. Costa Book Awards are given for both the works’ literary merit, as well as their popular appeal.

The 2006 Guardian First Book award has been given to Yiyun Li for her short story collection A Thousand Years of Good Prayers.

The 2006 Finlandia Prize — Finland’s most prestigious literary award — has been given to Kjell Westö for his Swedish language novel Där vi en gång gått (”Where we once walked”).

Antonio Gamoneda has been awarded the 2006 Miguel de Cervates Prize, which annually recognises the lifetime work of a poet who writes in Spanish. The prize, awarded by the Spanish Ministry of Culture, is worth $120,000.

This year’s winners of the Governor General’s Literary Awards have been announced. The annual prize, awarded in altogether seven categories in both French and English, is one of Canada’s most prestigious literary prizes.
This year, the fiction awards go to Peter Behrens and Andrée Laberge (fiction), John Pass and Hélène Dorion (poetry), and Daniel MacIvor and Évelyne de la Chenelière (drama).

The 2006 National Book Awards winners have been announced. This year, the Fiction prize goes to Richard Powers for his The Echo Maker, while Nathaniel Mackey is awarded the Poetry prize for his poetry collection Splay Anthem.

The winner of the 2006 Prix Renaudot, one of France’s top literary prizes, has been announced. The prize was given to Alain Mabanckou for his novel Memoires de porc-epic (”Memoires of a Porcupine”).

The recipient of the 2006 Patrick White Award has been announced. The annual prize, which was established in 1973 by the Australian novelist Patrick White with the money he received for his winning the Nobel Prize in Literature, is given to a writer who has not received adequate recognition despite of his or her long literary career. This year’s prize goes to Morris Lurie.

The 2008 Nons Ense Award is projected to be delivered to "The Day the Beat Stopped Breathing" by a writer who received adequate recognition despite his less than illustrious career.

No comments: